Sweet Salute

Sponsored by:



Woven into our college scholarship application is the prerequisite to compose a written tribute to a significant UCPS teacher. The recipients of our scholarship then go on to shoot a SURPRISE video tribute to the same teacher. At the Sweet Salute we gather with all the scholarship recipients, their families, the teacher tributes, principals, guidance counselors, Foundation Board members and the community to debut those videos for the first time! You will laugh, cry, and be encouraged.

All are welcome to this free event on a Thursday in May. View the 2017 Program here.

Watch highlights of the Sweet Salute courtesy of Chain Reaction Studios.

Interested in Sponsorship Opportunities for 2018? Email Amy Sperry, Executive Director, at asperry@ucedfoundation.org

Click here to see one of the 2015 Teacher Tribute videos.

Click here to see one of the 2016 Teacher Tribute videos.

Click here to see the winning 2017 Teacher Tribute video.


The 2017 recipients:

CATA                    Anna Barber honoring Michael Hardy, CATA

Cuthbertson        Claire Brown honoring Ronald “Chris” Pierce, Cuthbertson

Forest Hills          Ivan Morgodo-Alfaro honoring Kevin Helms, Forest Hills

Marvin Ridge      Katie Mueller honoring Robin Filter, Marvin Ridge High

Jennae Jacob honoring Cameron Starr, Marvin Ridge High

Monroe                Yesenia Garcia honoring John Davis, Monroe High

Jennifer Ramirez-Perez honoring Jonathan Harbin, Monroe High

Parkwood            Carter Blackmon honoring Audrey Coggins, Prospect Elementary

Piedmont            Jodi Helms honoring Marie Coggin, Piedmont High

Ariel Wallace honoring Carrie Rule, New Salem Elementary

Porter Ridge       Brennan Halkidis honoring Jennie Yearick, Porter Ridge

Weddington        Mark Adams honoring Daniel Sellner, Weddington

Click here to see the 2016 Teacher Tributes and recipients in the news Enquirer-Journal-Wednesday-May-18-2016.pdf